Why Say No to Universal Health Care?

I ask the question why say no to universal health care because I have noticed a number of my younger facebook friends saying no the idea in the poll on facebook.

I am curious because my mother is on Medicare. Medicare is basically universal health care for retirement age Americans. In the last six months, she has had a malignant tumor along with a third of her liver removed by a top-notch surgeon and his team at Vanderbilt Medical Center which was followed by a two week hospital stay. Since then, she has been in the University of Tennessee Medical Center twice where she was cared for by some the nicest doctors and nurses anyone could ever hope to find. She might have had better doctors if she had gone to Hopkins, M.D. Anderson or the Mayo Clinic, but I am satisfied that she was seen by some the best, if not the best that East and Middle Tennessee have to offer. I can’t even start to guess what all of this health care cost, but it was covered by Medicare.

Today she called me four times. Once to make sure I brushed my teeth. Once to ask me what I had for lunch. Once to ask me where my sister was. Once to ask me where her grandsons were. O.K. she did not really ask me if I brushed my teeth, but you get the point, she is very much her old self. She still needs to get her strength back and work on her mobility issues, but she has made amazing progress from where she was right after the surgery. God and Medicare made it happen.

So, if it is good enough for retirement age people, who tend to go to the doctor more and take more medication, why would it not work for younger, healthier people?

2 thoughts on “Why Say No to Universal Health Care?

  1. Good post, Ed. Sometimes I think people just mindlessly accept the rhetoric coming out of Washington, without applying critical analysis. Many legislators on both sides of the aisle, and the Republican Party in particular, are getting out a message concerning the public cost of the proposed changes, and they are trumpeting some astronomical numbers. What people fail to realize, however, is that the cost of not overhauling our current health system could cost just as much, if not more.

    One of the fear tactics used by those who oppose health reform is that a public option would lead to rationing of doctor and hospital services. What they fail to recognize is that we have rationing now, based on one’s ability to pay. Not only that, but people without health coverage tend to wait longer to seek care, resulting in more serious diseases and increased cost to treat advanced cases. And when they do seek care, they show up at the hospital emergency room, a more costly treatment, which they cannot pay for anyway. Guess who does pay for it?

    The costs of not fixing our current system are unavoidable and are spread disproportionally on those least able to afford them. Reform is needed. Costs must be controlled. And medical care ought to be available to all, not just those who can “afford” it!

  2. good stuff Ed. I wonder how much money might be saved in the long run if younger folk have access to good health care and for that matter, preventative care…can we alleviate many of the most expensive chronic health care issues if we nip them early. Seems like a no-brainer…healthier folk are more productive and contributing members of society… I don’t even want to start quoting scriptures about our responsibilities to the poor…

Leave a Reply

